X-MEN GETS THE WHAM F.P. TREATMENT!!

Together again…

What feels like a lifetime is more like 3 years since Jed and I collaborated together as WHAM F.P. But the drought has been broken by an ELECTRIC TSUNAMI, as we were honoured with an invitation to submit a short story to the now released X-men: To Serve and Protect series, Issue #4. It’s in stores today.

Probably the best thing I've ever drawn.

Jed was INVALUABLE in this project, since I know the same about mainstream superheroes past and present, as I do what it takes to please a lady. NOT VERY MUCH. I basically told Jed the kind of story I wanted to do, and then he set the sky on fire. Our Editor Nick was also a huge help. A couple of things got edited out/down, but the essence still remains. Check out the high-res coloured pages here.

In other news, you may have noticed something missing from the comics section. It’s all good though, he’ll be coming back in one incarnation or another.

He always does.

xoxo

27 comments

  1. Jimmy-Dean Sausages

    Pfft, he may be gone from your comics section, but he ain’t gone from my hard-drive.

    FIGHT THE POWAH

    Also, screw you for bringing me back into my abusively sporadic relations with Marvel. First Skottie Young, now you. Just when you think you’re out…

    • Mr.Sheldon

      …I PULL YOU BACK IN. Haha. I think it’s a good thing though. My editors are absolute champions, and really do appreciate good art and good comics, as well as having the balls to suggest putting punks like me on books. It’s a nice transition I’m sure will continue.

    • Mr.Sheldon

      Haha awesome. I never read Nextwave, but while grabbing reference I saw some elvis lookin Modok’s that completely blew my mind.

  2. Krownz

    SICK SICK SICK. I don’t even read X-Men, but I will catch up so that I can enjoy this issue.

    Keep rockin’ the tits off these projects, Shel. We’ll keep makin’ noise.

    • Mr.Sheldon

      Haha cheers, Pat! I only hope Jed and I get another chance to work on some superhero stuff. This wasn’t as daunting as I thought it was going to be.

  3. Chris Cogdill

    Hey, Sheldon. Do you do some practice drawings, similar to your macho gomez concept art, before jumping into the pages or do you just blissfully grace the paper with pencil thrusts?

    I really love the construction process and think you should post more of your concept sketches.

  4. Dhuo

    Damn, you’re the only reason I would ever read a marvel comic. Seriously, I never touch the crap.
    Good thing I saved the pdfs, Hell, I gotta torrent that shit all over the place on piratebay, people need to see that.

  5. Jimmy-Dean Sausages

    It’s hard to decide which I love more in the story: Whirlwind derping all over the course, or Colleen’s sheer delight at cutting Stilt-Man’s legs off.

    Poor Stilt-Man. Dude just can’t catch a break.

  6. Milo Delaney

    I picked this up from my LCS on a whim and this was the best story. I really like your style, too.

    Have you ever drawn Jessica Rabbit from Who Framed Roger Rabbit, or the MonStars from Space Jam. The cartoony vibe I get from your work reminds me of the wackiness of those types of movies.

    Keep it up!

Leave a comment...

